The Hughes

Samuel Island, Gulf Islands, Canada

We had a late lazy morning, I read my new book Racing Manhattan, thank you Nana! I had started it the night before and it is a great book. My favorite part is the characters because sometimes there’re good and other times they’re bad. Here’s an example, I liked her Uncle Bill in the beginning, then I hated him most of the book and in the end I didn’t like him but he was ok. It makes it more real because bad people do some good things and good people do bad things sometimes. So you can’t just label them good or bad because of one thing they do.

After reading a ton I set it down because it was noon, yes I know I wasted the morning on a good book. Well I did put the book down and do some math at about 12:30. I was almost done when Dad raised the anchor and we were off. Even though I was not quite done with math, I went outside because we were on the move.

I was excited, we were going back to the United States Of America even though I knew it wouldn’t feel any different (most people in Canada don’t have accents). It didn’t seem like that long in the beautiful weather until we were at Roche Harbor and it was time to dock. Docking is always exciting and we docked pretty perfectly and, like always, with a bit of shouting.

Dad went in to the Custom’s Office and I took down the Canada Flag and put up the Quarantine Flag. Then I went downstairs and watched a Ted Ed about Egyptian doctors. Pretty impressive what they did, although there were some things they just couldn’t help you with. I am glad doctors don’t just say a prayer and cut the bite if you get bit by a scorpion.

When Dad came back, I took down the flag and we set off to get some fuel. This time it was easy to dock, all we did was come in and people grabbed the lines and tied the boat for us. After getting our tank completely full we set off towards a harbor nearby to anchor up and see the Hughes!

Brian and Tish, remember them from when we were in St. Barths and St. Martin? This time they brought their daughter Chloe! I remember when she was my age and I was really young. Right as we dropped the anchor they came in on their sailboat, Leapfrog. After a while Mom and I paddled over and Tish and Chloe paddled over to us. We pretty much met in the middle and decided to go on a paddle together.

IMG_8674

The paddle was lovely and we got to catch up with each other. Chloe is really into Rugby and just made this new team that is a really hard to get into. We talked about all sorts of things and once we made it back to the boat we had dinner all set up.

Their boat is a C & C 40 and Dad and I decided to go over there to get a tour. They have a golden retriever that goes with them on their boat. Golden Retrievers are my favorite type of dog and Buckley is so cute! While I drank a San Pelegrino Chloe, Tish and I played Chinese Checkers.

Right after the game finished Dad and I went back to the boat and started making dinner. Once everything was ready they came over with some potatoes and chicken. For dinner we had chicken and fish tacos with salad and potatoes on the side. They were delicious and while we were eating, I showed them a picture I found of the last time I saw Chloe. After eating, we went outside and recreated the photo so below you will see the last time we saw each other and then yesterday. What a fun night with friends back in the USA!

IMG_8684

 

 

One thought on “The Hughes”

  1. On your way home. What a fantastic trip for all of us who were a part of your adventures. Shall miss your blogs and beautiful boat, great menus and wonderful pictures ( by Mom) and the once in a life time trip. Much love to everyone and hope to see you in SV if George is well enough…….💝El

    Like

Leave a comment