Samuel Island

Wallace Island, Gulf Islands, Canada

Dad made us pancakes for breakfast yesterday, there weren’t many ingredients in them but wow they were good! Especially with syrup although you don’t really need it. With some pancakes the syrups make it taste better, with others it’s great with or without. I also love how they are a burst of flavor!

IMG_8664

After an hour of so we decided to leave and go get groceries at Ganges. It has the best grocery store that we have found so we wanted to go there. I got in the dinghy and pulled myself over to the bowline at the shore and untied it. Then using the rope again I pulled myself back without using the motor!

Once we were out of the harbor, I picked a spot to sit and sat there for about 30 minutes. Then Dad had to do some work up on the bow, and even though it was on auto pilot, I had to steer around the rocks that were ahead of us. How you steer on auto is you push either 2 buttons, one that goes port and one that goes starboard.

IMG_8661
Some seals

That gave me the opportunity to run around on deck and up to the bow and all around. Every minute or so I would run back and check our course, it was great fun. I had to look ahead a lot too because, even though the Plotter shows the rocks, it doesn’t show logs floating in the water, which there were a ton of!

I was on watch for about 45 minutes and then Dad took back over and I stayed up at the bow. It was cold up there so I had to run around to keep warm. I could curl up in a ball but pacing back and forth was more enjoyable. When we turned into the wind, while going into the harbor, it was so cold I came back into the cockpit.

Anchoring was quite an ordeal, after anchoring Dad decided he wanted to move 20 feet forward. It didn’t make a difference to me but I trusted him so we picked up the anchor and moved forward. Finally we went into town to get some food and soda water because we ran out.

We actually went to the liquor store first and then on the way back we got an ice cream treat. It was mint chocolate chip with such a creamy flavor it was delicious. Of course all ice cream is good, but this was really good. It’s crazy how fast I can finish a cone with Dad helping me and how slow it takes other wise, I wonder why?

When we finally got to the grocery I got prepared, having a big shop takes work sometimes. Once we were inside the store we grabbed a cart and started. We got the dry foods first, snacks, crackers, sauce packets and then we did the produce. Mom and I got all sorts of fruits and veggies including a mango and cucumbers. We then did the meat department where we got flank steak, fish for fish tacos and probably one other thing I am forgetting.

Luckily it was a short walk to the dinghy and soon we were back on the boat. I lifted the anchor and we were off to an island my Dad’s friend (from elementary) used to own. It is called Samuel Island and it sounded pretty cool from the book. Dad told me about going up there when he was my age. I wish I had a friend who owned a beautiful island.

Pretty much the whole way there I swung onto the boom. So I would be standing in the cockpit then I would jump up and grab on to the boom and swing back and forth. The only time I didn’t was when I went down to look up on Dad’s phone who owns the most cars. You should look it up if you want to learn about the guy who owns 7,000 cars.

Samuel Island was really awesome, we saw a deer running right when we got there. Something I didn’t tell you was that we were all preparing dinner on the boat ride so we had food when we got there. I marinaded the chicken in the teriyaki sauce, Dad grilled it and Mom made the rice and salad. It was a team effort and it was delicious, what a good night in a beautiful little cove!

2 thoughts on “Samuel Island”

  1. Lowie, you look like you have grown quite a bit over this past year. Do you know how many inches taller you have grown? Terri

    Like

  2. Your picture must have been you in your quarter berth. Looks very comfy to me. Yes, the logs are a hazard. A friend of ours from La Connor took a nap and left his wife at the wheel (pwr boat) and she hit a log. They had to call for help, needless to say she never was at the helm again!!! Was a mess. We never got to Samuel Island. Not enough time. Another good meal had by all.
    Much love, 💝 El

    Like

Leave a comment