Sucia Island

Deer Harbor, Orca Island, San Juan’s, USA

When I woke up yesterday I wanted pancakes for breakfast. The only problem was we didn’t have any eggs! I thought about having something else but I knew there was a little store on the dinghy dock. Dad and I went to the dock to get the eggs, I wanted it to be over so we could have yummy pancakes.

The only problem was they had just run out of eggs! I was so bummed out but I saw they served hash browns so I got some. While we waited we walked down the docks and looked at all the cool boats. Some boats I think are cool but I would never want and others I would totally want!

Right as we got back to the store the hash browns came out. Then I realized what they were, when I thought they were cooking them they were deep frying them! They had obviously gotten some frozen hard potato patties, you could tell by the shape. After letting them thaw they had fried them. On some occasions I would have loved to have them, but this was not really the time. We had come into the dinghy dock for real food, but I guess everybody has a different opinion.

Anyway when we got back the boat I had a little snack, since I was still hungry! Then I went outside and we raised the anchor and we motored out of the harbor. We were going to Sucia Island, which was funny because in Spanish that means dirty. So we were going to Dirty Island, doesn’t sound so good, I think I’ll stick to calling it Sucia.

On the way, I did math with Mom, I am starting to really like the book we are doing. It’s so much better than the other one, it actually explains things! Instead of just having me do something I have no idea about. I also am liking the real life story problems because it’s nice to know why you would ever need to use a certain skill.

Finally I went outside and it was wonderful out, the wind was blowing and it was warm out. Since we hadn’t listened to comedy in a while I brought out the speaker and turned on Pandora. My favorite comedian is Jim Gaffigan, he makes all of us laugh and it’s fun to be out on deck looking around and laughing.

Once we got into the harbor I dropped the anchor and started on my blog. I was about 3/5th of the way done when we decided to go on a walk. So I got to stop writing and we all got in the dinghy and went to the beach. We dragged the dinghy up the beach and tied it nice and tight, we last dragged the dinghy up on the beach in the Bahamas! Which seems like years away, even though it’s only been a few months.

As we started on the hike we talked about Chance, Dad’s old dog. I really wish I could have met him because all my cousins on my Dad’s side were able to. Dad told me about training him and the little puppy classes he went to. He sounded like such a sweet and goofy puppy, and dog.

At first the hike seemed long and then we were at Ewing Bay, the beach we were going to! I sat on a piece of driftwood in the shade for a while and then Mom and I followed Dad up to a good overlook. It was an even better view from there and we looked at the colorful pebbles below us, they were everywhere. It’s funny because, besides the Tribune Bay beach, this was the most like a beach!

Dad started skipping rocks and soon we were all doing the same. The most I got was 4 and Dad got 13 or so, the rock just wouldn’t stop, it just kept going. Even though the rocks weren’t perfect they were ok. There was a geocache nearby so we found that and then started heading back on the trail.

About half way back we found another cache, this one was placed by the same person. I guess they really like the area! The walk back was super easy, if felt like just a few moments because I was in dream land. When Mom and Dad talked, I couldn’t even hear them I was a million miles away.

For dinner we had Spaghetti, it had the perfect heat, just enough to make me take a sip of fizzy water, but not enough to make me burn. The night was perfect, so nice we took the blanket outside and sat in the hammock, Dad spotted the first star. It was such a nice night after a day of math, hiking and skipping rocks.

Leave a comment