Deer Harbor

Garrison Bay, San Juan Island, USA

I woke up pretty late, and then once I was up, I decided to make French Toast for myself and Mom and Dad. Mom actually helped by cutting the bread while I was mixing the eggs, milk, cinnamon, sugar and vanilla extract together. The pan took a while to heat and then I put on my tester, it was delicious. So I put half of them on the hot pan and then sat down to wait. After a few minutes I checked on them and they were golden brown so I flipped them. These, once they were done, were even better than the test one! On my second batch they cooked fast and were soon done. While we ate, I thought of how good food can taste sometimes!

When we were done with breakfast we sort of just relaxed. We didn’t really do anything until the Hughes came over and asked us if we wanted to go on a walk with them. I wanted to, and so did Mom and Dad, so we put on our socks and sneakers. Then we took the dinghy over to the dinghy dock at the English Camp.

They were already there, but just barely, they were still on the dock. We decided to do a nice little walk that was a little longer than the day before but with basically no altitude gain. So that means that we wouldn’t go up very far if any. The hike was exciting and since I knew it wouldn’t be hard I could just enjoy it.

As we walked on the trail Chloe and I started telling riddles and jokes. Some of them that she told I knew and others I told she knew, but there were at lot that were very fun because I had never heard them. I always like the ones that are so easy but you can never manage to get them.

All of the sudden we were almost done with the walk, so we decided to do a bit more before we were done. We ended up at an oyster farm/restaurant/cute shop, it was a bummer we didn’t need anything because it was a great area! Buckley said hello to some other dogs and we sat in the shade.

IMG_8791

Then we got up and went back to the boats, which weren’t very far away. They had to go back to Victoria, where they live and so we had a goodbye lunch. We brought over some things and we ended up with full tummies. I had a piece of corn, lots of salami, cheese, bread, Naan bread, cucumbers and pears.

Back on the boat we lifted our anchor at the same time as they did and with a final wave we went one direction and they went the other. It was beautiful out and I swung on the boom, Mom even took a cool slow-mo of me doing it. My new move is I run from behind the steering wheel, jump using the cushions as a trampoline, and grab on to the boom. Eventually letting go and landing on the cushion. It’s a great thing to do when you are excited.IMG_8799

 

Dad and I then did some real exercise, 50 sit-ups and some leg exercises. It was fun even though it hurt a little bit. 50 sit-ups isn’t that bad but since we haven’t been doing them it was a bit of a challenge. When we were done we were basically in Deer Harbor on Orcas Island and it was time for me to drop the anchor.

Even though he had a feeling the anchor was stuck, Dad wanted to stay for a few minutes. So I did my school work of the day and Mom helped with Math. Finally it was dinner time and we went into town. Before we went to the restaurant we did a nice short walk around the little area. Then we went back to the restaurant to eat dinner. After eating we went back to the boat and pretty much went to bed. It was late and we had had a pretty busy day!

One thought on “Deer Harbor”

  1. What a fun surprise to have you answer the ☎️ phone!!!!!!!!! Now you are really heading home. Chloe has a very pretty golden. I miss my dogs. I bet you can’t wait to see Miss Bella ..Have a fun rest of your trip and give Susan a hug for me and hugs to you also. 🌸🌼🌻🌞El

    Like

Leave a comment